Pascall Prize - The Pascall Prize

The Pascall Prize

The Pascall Prize is Australia's only major national prize awarded for critical writing.

This annual prize is awarded to an Australian critic whose work over the previous 12 to 18 months has contributed significantly to public debate, appreciation, enjoyment and understanding of an area of the arts.

The recipient of the Pascall Prize is named 'Australian Critic of of the Year' and awarded $15,000.

The Pascall Prize is awarded by a panel of judges that includes industry peers and previous recipients, and a member of the Geraldine Pascall Foundation.

The Pascall Prize seeks to identify and reward an Australian critic whose work:

  • stimulates interest in the subject;
  • expands knowledge about the subject;
  • arouses debate;
  • creates a vital, engaging voice in the culture through the expression of strong, considered opinion(s);
  • has intrinsic creative merit.

The purpose of the Pascall Prize is to reward a critic or reviewer whose work changes the perceptions of Australians, opens their eyes to a different perspective of their culture, develops a new interest in the subject and is both imaginative and creative.

The Pascall Prize celebrates incisive and well-crafted critical writing in areas including literature, art, architecture, food and wine, music, theatre, film, television, and radio.

Pascall Prize Galleries

The Pascall Prize

Geraldine Pascall 

Level 4
Culwulla Chambers
67 Castlereagh St
Sydney NSW 2000

T +61 2 9231 4293
F +61 2 9221 8201 



2014 Entries
Now Closed





2013 Pascall Prize: Becoming a Critic with Kerryn Goldsworthy

2013 Pascall Prize: Becoming a Critic with Kerryn Goldsworthy

More on our YouTube Channel...

Visit our YouTube channel